Science

Science

Frequently Asked Questions about the

Next Generation Science Standards

 

What are the Next Generation Science Standards?  The NGSS is a new set of Science Standards aimed specifically at getting students more involved in the “doing of science” during the learning of science. 

What is the role of the student in the NGSS classroom?  Students will be involved in more inquiry based learning where they will both generate questions about their learning and also develop models in the classroom to show their learning.  Their learning will be anchored by real life questions connected to science and they will, through inquiry based learning, engage in the doing of Science.

Will students be tested in Science? Students will continue to be assessed but these assessments may look a little different than in the past.  They will no longer only be tested using a traditional multiple choice test but will also be assessed during their learning through performance based assessments, formative assessment opportunities and by being involved in inquiry based learning.

Will my child have Science Homework?  Your child will have science homework, expect to see them bring home articles, or be online reading online articles, watch the news, read the newspaper or research a current topic specifically related to everything science that is around us every day.  Our goal is to have students become connected with science as a part of life versus an abstract idea applicable only to the science classroom.

How can I help my child in Science? Talk with your child about what they are doing in their Science classroom.  Connect what they are learning to every-day life.  Talk to your child about the science articles that they may bring home and talk to them about what they have read. 

Where can I find more information about the NGSS?  Check out some of the resources below for more information on the NGSS:

http://www.nextgenscience.org/

http://www.nextgenscience.org/parents

http://bit.ly/2b3vEva

http://www.nextgenscience.org/three-dimensions

http://www.nsta.org/docs/NGSSParentGuide.pdf

https://teachscience4all.org/2014/07/29/nsta-resource-ngss-parent-guide/

http://www.isbe.net/assessment/pdfs/isa/isa-faq-parents.pdf

https://twitter.com/officialngss/status/639135818259431424

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=SEc1ENq3FSs&feature=youtu.be

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=W2yEWyvWznE&feature=youtu.be

http://www.achieve.org/new-videos-about-next-generation-science-standards

Don’t hesitate to reach out to your child’s classroom teacher!  This is new to us all and we are VERY excited about implementing our new curriculum this year.

 

 

FACULTY: Ginger Brest, Division Chair gbrest@psd202.org

     
Burgwald, Agnes  aburgwald@psd202.org    
Burgwald, Jason  jburgwald@psd202.org    
Dellamorte, Anthony adellamo@psd202.org    
Durkin, Lindsay ldurkin@psd202.org    
Gardner, Lindsay lgardner@psd202.org    
Gonzalez, Zachary zgonzale@psd202.org    
Holler, Anthony  aholler@psd202.org    
Kelner, Jason jkelner@psd202.org    
Kieft, Rachel rkieft@psd202.org Kolb-Puglisi, Nancy (sub) nkolb@psd202.org
Kraus, Lori  lkraus@psd202.org    
Mailloux, Pamela  pmaillou@psd.org    
McBride, Nancy  nmcbride@psd202.org    
Patel, Jayendra jpatel@psd202.org    
Seibert, Jonathan jseibert@psd202.org    
Sicinski, sarah ssicinsk@psd202.org    
Susnis, Melissa susnis@psd202.org    
Zimmermann, Steve szimmerm@psd202.org